Food · Life

Going Dairy Free

dairy free

Recently I have decided to give my diet a major overhaul, and for a variety of reasons I have decided to reduce my Dairy intake in the hopes of eventually having a completely Dairy free diet.

  • My main reason for reducing Dairy is to help clear my skin. For well over ten years I have suffered with acne, with pregnancy being the only time it has cleared up. I have tried numerous skin cleansing treatments from various well known brands with little to no effect. Throughout my teen years I was prescribed antibiotic tablets and topical treatments with the only (undesirable) effect of drying out my skin to the point of peeling.
  • Reducing Dairy can have a positive effect on your digestive system. I have also had problems with my digestive system for some time and only after doing some research was I shocked to discover that 60 to 90 percent of the worlds population suffer from lactose intolerance which can cause bloating, gas, constipation and other digestive issues.
  • Weight loss and also weight gain. For me, at this stage in my life I am wanting to lose the last of my ‘baby weight’.  Going Dairy free means you cut out some excess saturated fats, sugar and salt from your diet, resulting in a healthier and more balanced diet. I do however wish I had of known about the weight gain benefits of a Dairy free diet in the past when I had struggled to increase my low weight. A dairy free diet can be good at helping you to absorb nutrients which are beneficial when trying to gain weight.
  • Stronger Bones, I was really surprised when I discovered this as I had always believed there was a strong connection between Dairy and bone strength. Research completed recently has actually shown that those who get their calcium intake mainly from Dairy were more likely to suffer from fractures, than those who got the majority of their calcium from non-dairy sources.
  • Reduce the risk of Chronic disease such as cardiovascular disease, Type 2 Diabetes and Obesity. Who wouldn’t want to lower their risk?
  • Trying new food and Dairy free alternatives. I’m really looking forward to trying a whole world of new foods that I may never have looked twice at before and also pushing my cooking and baking skills to the test. Anyone who knows me knows I have a ridiculously sweet tooth, so of course I’ve already tried some Dairy free chocolate which was, to my surprise, delicious! I have also already attempted to bake a Dairy free chocolate cake (yummy blog post to follow in a few days!) which ended up being a huge hit with the whole family and barely lasted a day.

There are many other benefits for a Dairy free diet, or at least reduce Dairy in my diet but these are the reasons, I, at the moment am choosing to make the change. I know its not going to be the easiest change in my diet as I never realised quite how many food items contain Dairy but its definitely making me look more at what I choose to put in both my own and my children’s bodies.

Wish me luck! Do you live Dairy free? Is there any Dairy free alternatives you would highly recommend?

Blog Signature

Leave a Reply

