52 Week Challenge · Family · Life

52 Week Challenge – Week 4

52 Week Challenge

Week 4- Childhood Memory

I couldn’t settle for just one childhood memory so instead I’m sharing a series of photographs my Mum gave me for my 21st Birthday that show some of my best childhood memories. I sometimes miss having physical copies of photos, theres something about the slightly ‘grainy’ quality of an older non digital image that I find enchanting and fascinating.

Apologies in advance as my scanner decided to throw a wabbly to I’ve had to take a photograph of the originals.

IMG_0241

Although I obviously don’t remember this moment, this is one of the first photos taken of me with my Mum. I love the look on my Mum’s face, its an expression I recognise more now I have my own children.

IMG_0240

The four generations, my Great Grandma, Grandma, Mum and me.

IMG_0261.JPG

This is actually an old polaroid image and probably my most prized photo I own. This is me and my Grandad. My Grandad was the main man in my life growing up and I love that this photo shows the admiration I had for him from day one, and the love he had for me and all his Grandchildren. Unfortunately we lost my Grandad a few years a go but I will never forget the wonderful memories I have of him. I think a lot of my fondest childhood memories include my Grandad in one way or another.

IMG_0267

IMG_0247

IMG_0232

IMG_0220

IMG_0226

My Sister is in all my childhood memories. When we were little we were the best of friends, being only 14 months apart we had a lot in common, I can’t imagine a childhood where I didn’t have a sibling to share every high and low with, fight with and play with. I hope my Daughters have the same bond my sister and I have as they grow up. I look back at these photos and laugh that my sister used to lie with me on the sofa and give me hugs, these days she’s always telling me stay out of her personal space (unless of course she wants me to play with her hair- which I always will do!) Whilst I type this she is in Australia and I would very much like a hug from her, thank goodness for video calling!

IMG_0236

I think this must be what sparked my love of owls, I actually remember this day. I was really quite scared but once I was holding the owl the fear just disappeared. (Check out my ears- my husband tells me I look like a Hobbit child in this! Don’t tell him but being a huge Tolkien fan I don’t find this offensive in the slightest!)

What are your fondest memories of growing up? Would you have difficulty picking just one like me?

If you’d like to join in with my 52 week challenge, or save it for a later date then please do. I’d love to know if you do so I can have a read of your posts too.

Blog Signature

Pink Pear Bear
4 thoughts on “52 Week Challenge – Week 4

  1. Oh this is lovely, actually brought a tear to my eye. I think it was your bond with your grandad. I miss mine so much. And your bond with your sister, I am an only child and I wanted my children to always have someone and I see them in these photos which makes me so happy. My mum did me an album for my 18th. It’s such a lovely gift. I print out photos now and try to make albums as I miss having them. Thanks for linking up with us again. #bigpinklink

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you lovely, I miss my Grandad every day but I’m so grateful for the time I had with him. Having a sister for me is having a best friend for like, I hope both children and yours share that same bond 🙂 I really should start to print more photos, we have a few around our house like our wedding and the girls as newborns but having some albums would be lovely. And nice to pass onto the girls when they’re older. Thanks again for hosting x

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

