Uncategorized

Banana and Oat Muffins

img_0416

These muffins have gone down particularly well with the Hubby, he’s been taking one (or two) with him to work every day to eat on his breaks. They’re fab because they’re full of Banana and Oats, both are slow energy releasing, plus they’re super yummy. You can easily add a little something extra to them like dried fruit or chocolate chips. I also don’t worry too much about the exact measurement of Banana, I want to be able to taste the Bansna so if I have a little more than the recipe calls for I’ll just chuck them in for good measure.

I’ve taken quite a liking for measuring Ingredients in Cups at the moment, I recently invested in a really lovely measuring set and I’m finding this method much quicker, easier and cleaner, especially as I’m usually in a rush.

For the Muffins:

  • 1 1/2 Cups Self Raising Flour
  • 1 Cup Oats
  • 1/2 Cup of Sugar or Natural Sweetener (Honey etc.)
  • 2 Tsps Baking Powder
  • 1 Egg
  • 3/4 Cup Milk
  • 1/3 Cup Vegetable Oil
  • 1/2 Tsp Vanilla Extract
  • 1 Cup very ripe mashed Banana

Preheat the oven to 180C.

First you want to combine all the dry ingredients so the flour, oats, sugar (if using a wet substitute then add in the next stage), and baking powder.

In a separate bowl, beat the egg and then stir in the milk, oil and vanilla. (Add your wet sugar substitute at this point too).

Mash the banana to your preferred consistency, smooth or lumpy. You can blitz with a blender if you like it super smooth and add this to the wet mixture.

Once completely mixed, add in the flour mixture until just combined. You don’t want to over mix as you’ll lose the air in the batter. You can add in your extras now too.

Line a 12 cup muffin tin with muffin cases and evenly divide the batter between them.

Place in the oven for around 20 minutes or until golden and cooked through.

And enjoy.

I’ve been eating them for breakfast and according to the Hubby they go beautifully with a yoghurt (I can’t say I’ve tried it but I’ll take his word for it).

Let me know if you give any of my recipes a try, I’d love to know how you get on.

Blog Signature

2 thoughts on “Banana and Oat Muffins

Leave a Reply

