Family · Life

Time for Self Care

rest and self care

When I became a parent my girls became my number one priority, my whole world and they always will be. But somewhere along the way I forgot about myself and until very recently I hadn’t really realised. Blogging was a way for me to find myself again, and in doing so has also made me realise some things I need do for myself. I’ve come to realise that in order for me to function as a Mum and a Wife I really need to look after myself better.

So I’ve decided now is the time for a little more self care:

  • Do 20 minutes of exercise at least three times a week- I’ve just done my first workout since having Tiny Tot and I’m definitely going to feel it in the morning.
  • Drink two litres of water a day- If this said coffee it would be easy.
  • Cut down on my sugar intake and eat healthier snacks- I probably eat far too much chocolate!
  • Eat proper meals- As a Mum I find myself snacking throughout the day but not having a set ‘Breakfast’ or ‘Lunch’.
  • Read at least one book a month- I can’t remember the last time I finished a book and I so miss reading.
  • Walk more- Drive Less!
  • Go to bed earlier- I so often find myself up until midnight and then spend the next day complaining about how exhausted I am.
  • Get a hair cut once every two months- I last had my haircut before Tiny Tot was born and it really needs some TLC.
  • Make an effort to apply ‘my face’ in the morning- I’m not talking full on face of make up but just a little bit of tinted moisturiser and mascara wouldn’t go a miss. I used to wear make up every day but since Tiny Tot arrived I really haven’t given my appearance much attention.
  • Treat myself to a few new items of clothes- I’m always buying the girls clothes (kids clothes are just too darn cute to resist) but I forget about myself.
  • Enjoy a long soak in the bath with my favourite Lush products at least once a month- When I was pregnant I relaxed in the bath at least once a week, usually more and I think my body deserves a dip in the tub.

care capacity.jpg

Thank you for reading, are you taking some time for self care? What do you do to look after yourself?

Blog Signature

You Baby Me Mummy
6 thoughts on “Time for Self Care

Leave a Reply

