Hints and Tips

Inexpensive Baby Essentials

 

baby essentials 2

We have been ridiculously lucky over the past few years to have been given many beautiful hand-me-downs from family and friends. We are a family who don’t have a lot of spare cash so we have gotten very good at finding a bargain and always look at second hand items before buying new. I have found we can still get good quality items without paying the price of high end brands. I will not deny that at times it is necessary to pay a bit more but if I can I’ll spend as little as possible.

This is my list of top tips to purchasing ‘reasonably’ priced newborn essentials:

  • Boots Standard Necked Bottles and Boots Electric Steam Steriliser. We bought new bottles when our Tiny Tot was born but again we stuck to Boots own items. We have had no problems with them,they fit perfectly into the bottle pockets in my Jujube BFF Changing Bag, and the teats have a valve built in to help reduce colic. Riculously low price and good quality.
  • Kiddicare Group 0 Plus Baby Car Seat, we have reused the newborn car seat for our second and you wouldn’t even know it had been used before. We liked the newborn seat so much that we bought our Toddler the Kiddicare Shuffle Group 0 1 Car Seat when she out grew her first seat.
  • Our Moses Basket mattress and Cotbed mattress were both from Argos. We were very lucky to be given both a second hand Moses basket and Cotbed. My husband gave the Cotbed a lick of Baby friendly paint to ‘spruce’ it up and it’s now on round two with our Tiny Tot.
  • We borrowed a Fisher-Price Bouncer from a friend for both our girls, but this is something you can easily pick up second hand. Places like Gumtree and Facebook selling pages are brilliant places to look.
  • Johnson’s Baby Extra Sensitive Wipes or Boots Baby Soft Cloth Wipes- Fragrance Free. Boots have offers on their wipes the majority of the time so you can pick these up at a low cost, and more often than not Johnson’s baby wipes can be picked up in a box of 12 for a fair price.
  • Nappies, now these are one of the items I do pay a little more for. After lots of trial and error I have found that Pampers Baby Dry work best for us, but that’s not to say they’ll be best for your child (I’m sure it’s all about baby’s size and shape). I would highly recommend trying out different nappies i.e Supermarket brand nappies and online companies and decide what works best for you and your baby. I am a member of all the Supermarket Baby Clubs and therefore get emails notifying me of Baby Events. I try to stock up on nappies when they have offers on, best not to buy too many of one size though, I’ve made this mistake before and my little one grew out of them much quicker than I thought.
  • Baby Clothes, including Muslin cloths and Bibs, again I don’t like to spend too much money as I know they won’t last long. I have found that Supermarkets- especially Sainsburys and Morrisons sell beautiful and great quality children’s clothes. Sainsburys usually have 25% off their clothing at least once a month, really worth keeping an eye out on the dates. Also, look out for second hand clothing too, a lot of the time they’ve only been worn for a few months so they’re still in excellent condition.
  • Baby blankets, supermarkets were my best friend when it came to blankets, specifically Tesco. I did buy two new beautiful blankets from Mothercare for our Tiny Tot but did purchase them in a sale. Of course my favourite blankets are ones that have been made for our little ones, if you’re lucky enough to know someone who can knit or crochet ask them to make a few items for you but of course offer to buy the materials. You’ll be much more likely to keep and treasure them for many years.

I would highly recommend looking around and reading reviews of products before buying something because of a brand name, yes sometimes they can be the best, but a lot of the time there are brilliant cheaper alternatives.

See my other post Buying Secondhand Baby Items for more information on what to buy and more importantly, what not to buy secondhand.

Thank you for reading, do you have any other money saving tips for newborn/ baby items?

Blog Signature

Pink Pear Bear
Mudpie Fridays
You Baby Me Mummy
21 thoughts on “Inexpensive Baby Essentials

  1. Great post Hannah. There are lots of bargains to be had out there especially for little ones, I bought a lot of baby clothes in the sales for future wear, also I have heard that Amazon Prime is great for buying nappies and wipes too. Claire x #bigpinklink

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Claire, I’m going to have a ganders at Amazon Prime now! Always one for a bargain 🙂 I get a lot of future clothes in sales for my girls too, saves a lot of money and I’m always prepared when they suddenly outgrow items (which is far too often!) x

      Like

  2. Great post. My children are a bit older now but I think when you have a baby you can get carried away and spend a lot of money on unnecessary stuff. I also had a lot of second hand stuff and some of the bits I bought were not useful at all.
    My baby monitor is a cheap John Lewis one and it has lasted 2 kids and still going strong.
    #bigpinklink

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Great roundup! I second your thoughts on spending less on wipes and nappies, because you really go through them. I live in NZ so don’t have access to the same suppliers as you, but I’ve been using homebrand supermarket wipes for months without any nappy rash, and get non-branded nappies through a local website in boxes of 360 units for pretty cheap. I’ve never had a single leakage incident which has really made me think you’re just paying for the brand name when you go for the popular ones…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, my littles have never had any problems with cheaper wipes either, I just think you just have to look around and find what works best for you and your littles. Rather than just going for a brand because of its reputation! Thank you for reading, also very jealous of you living in NZ, somewhere I’d really love to visit in the future 🙂 x

      Like

  4. Great post! It’s so easy to overspend. We were so lucky with secondhand clothes and didn’t have to buy anything in newborn or 0-3 as we got given so much! And my mum has knitted some lovely blankets. My sisters swear by car boot sales for getting bargains! #bigpinklink

    Liked by 1 person

  5. This is an excellent post, so helpful for not just those on a budget, but for everyone, because there’s no need to pay over the odds for things regardless of your budget! I’m totally with you on the nappies, from the first being around 6 weeks, I’ve only ever used pampers baby dry, day and night! I use a few own brands at the moment, but some things you suggested, I haven’t tried, so I will be off to take a look! Thank you so much for sharing with us at #bigpinklink!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. It is mad how much a tiny little person can cost! We too are a family with limited spare cash so I am always searching for a bargain. I buy most clothes from supermarkets, we really like Sainsbury’s too. I haven’t ever looked in Morrisons but will do next time I’m there, thank you!
    I tend to buy all Aria’s clothes out of season in the sale, I even have things for her for the next few years. I got her a Ted Baker coat for next year’s winter that should have been £49 for £10, it’s mad the mark up on some items! Great post, #bigpinklink

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Great post! They have a book here in the US called Baby Bargains and its full of reviews of hundreds of products and recommendations to help you save money, we found it quite useful as we were unfamiliar with so many things here. I’m not sure if it’s available in the UK? I love reading tips from real mums though as it gives you a much better idea of what’s ok to buy second hand and what you really do need to splurge on!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Babies are so expensive! At least we will get to reuse most of Monkeys bits having a mother boy in a couple of months. We will also be reusing our carseat and mosses basket when the come out of the loft I suspect they will look brand new! Good tip re Gumtree we found some real bargains on there too. Thank you for joining us at #BloggerClubUK hope to see you again this week xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. We had the same as we have 2 girls, has definitely saved us a lot of money not having to purchase any boys clothes, our Moses basket and car seat just needed a little brush off and looked like they’d never been used!! Thank you for hosting 🙂 x

      Like

  9. I am a fan of morrisons baby and childrens clothes, they wash up so well. It can be so expensive with babies but with a bit of sensible shopping it makes life so much easier and cheaper. Fortunately I can crochet so make a lot of baby blankets and gift them to people I know when they have a baby. xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

