Food

Mini Cappuccino and Victoria Sponge Cakes

It looks as though this wet and windy weather is set for another week here in the South West, and with lots of friends and family popping in I thought it would be nice to have some little cakes to go with our many cups of tea and coffee. So this weekend I’ve made some little individual Cappuccino and Victoria Sponge Cakes.

Again another fairly easy, quick recipe with a super yummy outcome!

For the Cakes

  • 175g soft margarine
  • 175g light muscovado sugar
  • 175g self raising flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 3 eggs
  • 3 tsps instant coffee & 2 tsps boiling water (for the cappuccino cakes)
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract (for the victoria sponge cakes)

To decorate the Cappuccino Cakes

  • 300ml double cream
  • 75g dark or white chocolate curls

For the Victoria Sponge filling

  • 150ml double cream
  • Jam (Choose your favourite flavour)

The recipe makes 12 cakes, I made 6 Victoria Sponge and 6 Cappuccino. As they’re fairly quick to make I can always make another quick batch later in the week if needed.

IMG_1717.jpg

Grease and base-line (with greaseproof paper) a 12 section ‘deep’ muffin tray. (It doesn’t need to be neat- its just to stop the cakes from sticking).

Beat the margarine, sugar, flour, baking powder and eggs together in a bowl until smooth. If making the Cappuccino cakes at this point add the instant coffee already dissolved in the water. If making the Victoria Sponges, ignore the coffee and just add vanilla extract instead.

IMG_1720

Divide the mixture evenly between the holes of the muffin tray and try to spread the surfaces level (I made a bit of a mess so had to wipe around the sections before putting in the oven). Bake in a preheated oven, 180C (350F) Gas Mark 4 for 12-14 minutes or until well risen and springy to the touch. (I have to watch my cakes like a hawk as the oven in our new build seems to run hotter than the temperature I set it at).

IMG_1727

Remove the cakes from the oven and leave to cool for 5 minutes in the tray. (I’m have no idea what happened to the three cakes on the right but I did have a good giggle when I saw them!)

IMG_1730.jpg

Turn the cakes out onto a cooling rack and leave to completely cool. Once cooled, flip the cakes the right way up and slice each cake in half horizontally. Whip the cream until softly peaking then use it to sandwich the cakes together- add the jam of your choice to the Victoria Sponge cakes. Use the remainder of the cream to decorate the tops of the Cappuccino cakes along with the chocolate curls (I didn’t have any chocolate in the house so improvised with cocoa powder) and dust the Victoria Sponges with a light sprinkle of icing sugar. I will decorate as I go with these cakes as the cream ideally needs to be kept cold until serving, so I have whipped up the cream and left it in the fridge until I need it (probably first thing in the morning knowing my cake habits!)

IMG_1741

My batch of cakes didn’t turn out perfect, unfortunately I had a few distractions from a very sad Tiny Tot (who thought it would be a good idea to give babies trapped wind and constipation?!?) so ended up over whisking the cream slightly and somehow making three very wonky cakes. However the hubby has given them his seal of approval after trying one of each, as long as they taste good, it doesn’t really matter what they look like. As someone once told me, its all going to end up in the same place!!

Thank you for reading, please let me know on Twitter or Instagram if you give any of my recipes a go, I’d love to know how you get on! See you in my next post!

Blog Signature

 

Leave a Reply

