Food

Lemon Meringue Cupcakes

After another cold and slightly damp weekend, and a rough time with our toddler, I decided a sweet evening treat was definitely needed for me and the hubby. I really enjoyed making meringue last week and I wanted to give it another go. So, I had a look through my cupcake recipe book and decided on Lemon Meringue Cupcakes.

Another very simple recipe to follow and absolutely delicious!!

For the Cupcakes

  • 125g butter (softened)
  • 125g caster sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 150g self-raising flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • Finely grated rind of 1 lemon

For the Topping and Filling

  • 2 egg whites
  • 100g caster sugar
  • 4 tbsps Lemon Curd

This recipe makes 12 cupcakes so I halved the ingredients to make a smaller batch.

Line a 12 section bun tray with paper cake cases and preheat the oven to 180C (350F), Gas Mark 4. Mix all the cake ingredients in a bowl until light and creamy then place in the cake cases. Bake in the oven for 20 minutes or until risen and golden.

Whilst the cakes are in the oven, whisk the two egg whites in a clean bowl until it peaks, then mix in the sugar, a spoonful at a time until the mixture is firm and glossy. Once the cakes are baked, remove from the oven and raise the temperature to 230C (450F), Gas Mark 8. Once cooled slightly, scoop out a small amount of the sponge (like you would with a ‘butterfly’ cake) and fill with the lemon curd.

IMG_1464

Put the meringue on top and (attempt) to swirl with a pallet knife- I was going to use my piping bag however it appears to haveΒ disappeared off the face of the earth, or more likely the toy box. Place the cakes back in the oven for 1-2 minutes, keep a very close eye on them, and remove when the meringue is starting to brown.

IMG_1465

We ate them whilst still warm from the oven, and added a little whipped cream for extra yumminess!!

Thank you for reading again, please let me know if you’d like me to share more of my favourite and easy cupcake recipes. See you in my next post.

Blog Signature

Cuddle Fairy
6 thoughts on “Lemon Meringue Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

