Family

One of ‘Those’ Days

I was hoping to update you all on my weekly blog challenge today, but like everything else today, it hasn’t gone quite to plan. Today started as any other day, Allana and Willow woke up and the three of us enjoyed cuddles in bed, CBeebies in the background, whilst tiny tot had her first feed and toddler downed a cup of her favourite banana milkshake.

The day continued in a lovely manner with a play date for the girls, Willow spent the morning running around the house with her friend whilst I enjoyed a much needed ‘Mummy chat’ sharing Mummy war and love stories.

Towards the end of our Mummy and Play date I could see cracks appearing in my plans for the rest of the day. Willow was showing signs of a tantrum in the pipeline whilst Allana was starting to get on the unhappy side of life.

After a magnificent weekend with family, it would have all been a little too perfect if it had continued into today. I had grand plans to be a wonderful housewife and get the house back in shipshape, clean the kitchen, do the laundry, hoover and dust. However these plans were scarpered by both the littles.

Willow went down for her nap like a dream but Allana decided this was the perfect time to have a little meltdown. At this point any plans I had disappeared out of the window, having woken from her nap early, Willows earlier signs turned into a full blown terrible two’s tantrum and continued for most of the day. At the times she did relax, my tiny tot was then struggling with wind and constipation meaning there was no napping for her or peace for me.

My afternoon was one of many trips to the naughty step, calming of a screaming toddler followed by sobbing cuddles after the hundredth apology. All with the added stress of a very upset 10 week old who would not settle unless held, this of course only meant Willow got more distressed as she wasn’t getting my full attention.

I love my girls more than I knew was humanly possible, but days like today really push my patience and skills as a parent. Today was exhausting and draining but is completely outweighed by all the wonderful times I have and will experience as a parent. It also makes me realise that although its lovely to have an immaculate home, the happiness of my children far exceeds the importance of cleanliness.

Both my beautiful girls are now fast asleep in bed and I have full faith in tomorrow being a better day for us all. I will go to bed knowing that although today has been one of my hardest as a mother of two, I have come out the other side of it with a full heart and a smile on my face.

stay-positive-quotes

 

Thank you for reading, I hope to see you all in my next, more positive post.

Blog Signature

 

 

2 thoughts on “One of ‘Those’ Days

  1. It is really hard. We all have days like that. Sometimes you feel like you have it totally right and sometimes you feel like you aren’t doing anything right at all. But all children go through phases and tomorrow is another day. x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

