Family

An ‘Ordinary’ Mum

 

 

Hi guys, I’m Hannah, I am an ‘ordinary’ mother of two beautiful daughters, Willow and Allana and a wife to my wonderful husband Ed. We are a very happy little family living in a very normal house, leading a very disorganised but happy life in the beautiful seaside city of Plymouth, England. We don’t have exciting jobs, our house isn’t immaculate and we are often running late. We are your average ‘Joe’s’ and are very proud and delighted to be.

As a mother and a wife I am definitely not perfect, more often than not I will put together a meal from the freezer as I don’t have the confidence as a cook. I will buy a shop bought cake for special occasions as my baking is a little inconsistent and my icing skills are some what ‘interesting’ at best. And most of the items in my house are bought from some generic chain store or website.

I would love to introduce a healthier diet to my family, I would like to be able to cook a meal from scratch and not feel completely overwhelmed with panic at the thought of it. I’d like to feed my daughters healthy but fun snacks like the ones I see on other Mum’s Instagrams and Pinterests, but not be disappointed if they don’t look fantastic or my children don’t eat them. I want to be able to serve a cake, baked and decorated by myself at my daughter’s birthday parties and see excitement on their faces when they see their favourite animal or character made by their Mummy. And I really fancy getting much more hands on with the interior of my house, I want to make a piece of old furniture feel beautiful and add small personal touches to turn our house into a home.

So having just moved into our new house at the end of 2015, I have decided that 2016 is the right time for me to start having more fun and enjoyment as a Mum and wife. So this year, instead of I can’ts, I woulds and I wants, my life is going to be full of I ams and I cans. I know I will probably struggle with some of the challenges I set myself but that will be part of the joy of this adventure. I am going to welcome the bumps along the way and cheer in my triumphs and am looking forward to sharing my new and exciting journey with you.

From today, I, as an ‘ordinary’ mother am going to set myself a new task weekly, whether it be to whip up a new healthy meal from scratch for me and my family. Bake a yummy treat when we need a little pick me up, or make an item to decorate our home. I am not attempting to be ‘a perfect mum’ or Wonder Woman, I will instead be acquiring a new set of very useful skills to help me take joy in the things that currently terrify me. Please look out for what are likely to be amusing, positive and I hope motivational updates for any Mum’s that feel like me.

I’d love suggestions of what I could attempt to cook, bake or make so please feel free to tweet me with any fun ideas and I’ll give it a try.

Thank you for reading and see you all in my next post.

Blog Signature

 

Cuddle Fairy
4 thoughts on “An ‘Ordinary’ Mum

  1. So exited (excited?) to read about your year ahead and your dreams and whishes! I have a ton of inspiration for you, especially on the healthy way, as we did some big changes last year ourselves, but my lack of language… 😮
    Frank loves vegetables, sometimes cooked and mashed together and sometimes just roasted in the oven, parsnips, carrots, beetroots.
    As a snack, we eat frozen mango, and we make chocolateballs from dates, oats and cacao mixed together (Frank has a lot of food allergies that have made us look into what we eat, so that he can taste everything)
    Looking foreward to your upcoming posts! And whish you all luck!
    Xo / Emmie

    Ps.
    I wish we lived closer so we could get together and play, and that we had some money left so we could come visit..

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh I don’t think there’s nothing ordinary about you or any mums for that matter 🙂 And I bet most mums don’t do meals straight from scratch either! 😉 It’s impossible to do it all the time. We lead busy lives after all, right? 🙂 #bloggersclubuk

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This is a great post and I am sure you will achieve everything you have set out to do. Congratulations on starting this blogging journey as well, Ive only been blogging myself for 10 months, feel free to drop me a line with any questions you may have Im still learning but willing to share what I have picked up so far. Pinterest is by far my inspiration. Thank you for joining us at #BloggerClubUK hope you can make it again next week. xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, I’m sure I will have questions over the coming months so I will most definitely drop you a line if I need some advice. I’ve been using Pinterest a little but I think I’m going to spend some more time on there now. Thank you for setting up the #BloggerClubUK I hope to join in many more times xx

      Like

Leave a Reply

